top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureVirtual Insanity

About me...


Me and Bhavna Limbachia (Rana in Coronation Street)

I’m about as gay as it gets; lets start there, I am that person that will sit through an entire season of a TV show for the 5 minute gay scene, I endured Glee (remember those days) Pretty Little Liars and even briefly tried Riverdale, I really am that gay and desperate for that representation.

I graduated from University in 2015 with a BA(hons) in film studies and throughout my degree I studied all kinds of issues in relation to film; from race to feminism, gender and psychology you name it we sat through lectures on it and I loved it all (for the most part) but my biggest passion was always queer cinema and my passion didn’t end at the small screen.

I wrote a 10,000 word dissertation on the (lack of) progression of queer representation in mainstream cinema, and during this ridiculously long and highly stressful process I knew examining, discussing and writing about LGBT+ rep is something I wanted to continue to do so that leads us here.

The idea for this website/blog was born shortly after March 3rd 2016 the day The 100 aired Lexa’s death, for those that don’t know Commander Lexa (the openly gay commander of the grounders) was shot and killed by a stray bullet meant for her love Clarke moments after they finally consummated their relationship. Lexa’s death was not only a massive rip off of Tara’s death in Buffy but a heartbreakingly tragic end to yet another and in my opinion one of the best queer female character and this pissed me off, I mean really pissed me off it also completely broke my heart in a way a character death never had before. It reminded me of that pesky bury your gay trope our representation to often falls victim too and that got me tweeting, writing and ranting to anyone who would listen, it may sound cheesy but Lexa’s death and the discussion around it lit a fire under me, I became hyper aware of the importance of queer representation in media and that lead me to the first Clexacon in 2017.

I was surrounded by an army of queer women and people at Clexacon who were as passionate and persistent as I was, I found my community, a community desperate to see their stories reflected in the media so with a years worth of “you are good enough” and “start a bloody blog” from my Uni tutor turned close friend Ruth I decided it was about time I started this website/blog thing so I can write and share my thoughts about all things LGBT+ focusing on media and promoting queer content, creators and my favourite LGBT+ icons.

So here we are, thanks for reading my rambles I hope you enjoy – Sara.

36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page